Skip to content

2014 Wishlist

January 31, 2014

As it’s a really slow week, gaming wise and I’m stuck playing games that I can’t review yet (Killer Instinct) or games I’ve already reviewed (Don’t Starve) I thought I’d look forward to what should be a great year for gaming and make some predictions/wishes about what we’ll see happen.

wish
March 2014 will see at least three games released with a Metacritic rating of 9 or above.
Titanfall, South Park: Stick of Truth, Dark Souls II, Minecraft for Xbox One, Infamous: Second son and possibly Watch dogs.
That is a crazy list of games to be released in the space of 31 days. Probably too many if I’m going to be honest but it shows in a nutshell the variety and depth in this amazing genre of entertainment. I’m probably only going to play two of these at most but I fully expect March 2014 to be looked back on as a classic month.

wish1
Microsoft will announce a service or product that rivals Playstation Now in terms of backwards compatibility.
Sony has been perfect recently  in how they market and how they promote their brand to players. Microsoft are going to have to play catch up for the foreseeable future and I don’t think they could allow a huge feature like Playstation Now to go on uncontested. A £5 a month subscription service to stream Xbox and 360 games to the Xbox One would be a massive bonus. Allowing players with old save games on their profile to play the games for free would be spectacular. That’ll never happen though.

Look at all the games no one cares about!

Look at all the games no one cares about!

Nintendo will do absolutely nothing to help the Wii U’s sales and it will continue to sell badly.
I don’t want this to happen. I want there to be a reason for me to buy a Wii U other than “It’s got good games”. All the systems have good games. My Nokia Windows 8 phone has good games, It doesn’t mean that I bought it for those games. There is no excitement about the Wii U other than a huge nostalgia trip and that’s why it’s being ignored. Super smash brothers will sell well to the few that bought the system, but the amount it will attract to buy a Wii U won’t make an impact on the figures. Nintendo will do fine even if the system is a failure. To me it just appears that Nintendo are too arrogant to learn from their own or other peoples mistakes.

The yellow one is MINE!

The yellow one is MINE!

Playstation Vita will start selling better and people will stop thinking it has no good games.
The people that say that the Vita has no good games and either ignorant or trolls. It has plenty of great games and has many more coming out this year. If you’ve read my blog you’ll know how much of a fan I am of the system so of course I’m willing it on. Sony in a continuation of their great work is pushing the Vita with a revamped look and model, PS4 integration, Playstation now support and a flow of great games. This is how you support a failing system and give people a reason to buy it.
Now they just need to change the design of the home screen and I’ll be ecstatic.

wish4
Season two of Killer Instinct will be released with a promise of season three to come the following year.
Killer Instinct is a fantastic fighting game with brilliant balancing and a near faultless netcode. It’s free to play done incredibly well and opens the scary Beat’em’up genre to a bigger crowd because of its low cost of entry. Many people are playing it at the moment and they’ll continue to play into its second year. I also think Double helix are working on a lot of features to add when season one is complete that will quiet some of the boo boys who haven’t jumped on this particular hype train.

This can't be the final entry

This can’t be the final entry

A free to download Guitar Hero/Rockband type game from Activision/Harmonix will be released on the PS4 and Xbox One.
You’ll be able to purchase Albums, bundles or individual songs at an extra price to play by just using the game pad. A guitar peripheral with a download code will be available separately for those that want the complete experience.
Music games brought me back into gaming during the previous generation. It’s one of the reasons I don’t want to let go of my 360, as once it’s gone I won’t get to experience the feeling of nailing the riff from “Cult of Personality” ever again. There is a huge audience for this and Activision could make a tonne of cash from just updating the song list every so often instead of making annual releases. Of all the predictions and wishes, this is the one I have least hope for but want the most.

So what do you think 2014 will bring us? I’ll be revisiting this blog next year to see how badly I did and I’ll be happy to let you know how badly you did as well.

XBL, PSN and Twitter @Urbundave

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

