Skip to content

Aliens vs Predator 2010

January 7, 2013

This is going to be the next game i’m going to tackle. To be honest about it i’m not sure how much I’m going to enjoy it. One thing I do know is that I’ll be able to complete it which is an improvement from Super Meat Boy. I played through most of the 6th world and got to the penultimate level. I must have spent an hour trying to get past it without success. To preserve my sanity I thought I would come back to it later. If I try for another night and fail to beat it I’d have to admit that I either can’t or i’m getting too old to. Neither of which i’m ready to face right now so it’s on to something with a little less reliance on fast twitch reactions.

Image

 

I was really REALLY looking forward to this game. As a fan of the Aliens and Predator films (Not the AVP films as they looked shocking) and also a fan of the original games I couldn’t wait. The inclusion of the horde like survival mode sounded amazing. Amazing enough for all my friends and I to buy the game on release day. This was one of the first times that me and my friends had met up online with our mics set up. I remember the night vividly as we we all texted each other trying to organize what time we were going to meet up on this Friday night. As a group of guys in our late 20’s it gets much harder to meet up at the same time because of kids or girlfriends or wives. The planets had aligned this night however. Five of us would be meeting up this night to triumph over the the ever increasing Alien horde. It all started to come off the rails quickly though. Due to commitments people pulled out or got delayed but we finally got to play.

IT.

WAS.

AVERAGE.

I hadn’t felt that underwhelmed in a while by a game. It felt especially awkward because i’d paid full price on release day and probably had encouraged friends to do the same so we could all play this game together and experience the joy together. We never met up to play it together again. I tried the other multiplayer options and found it to be incredibly unbalanced as whoever chose the Predator won. The story mode didn’t grab me in any way during the Predator portion and the game just got pushed aside. The real reason I didn’t push on with the story mode was because Bioshock 2 had come out a week before and 

IT

WAS

AMAZING. Aliens vs Predator didn’t stand a chance with my non multiplayer free time because I was trapped in rapture (happily I might add). Things have changed now and maybe AVP will turn out to be better than remembered. 

Strange thing is though Bioshock 2 almost took my time away from AVP again this evening when I discovered that it was one of the games I could download for free with my PS+ membership. Even though I’ve got the game on my XBOX the thought did cross my mind to just get the trophy’s. But I said no. The point of this blog is to complete my old games and I need to be somewhat strict with myself for at least the first month. 

Before I go I’m going to tell you for the first time (Not the last either) that you should get a PS+ membership. Apart from the Blu ray player it is the reason to own a Playstation. £40 a year and you get free games all year. Full games, psn games themes etc. There is no reason to buy any games for the playstation once you get your membership. If you haven’t heard of it yet and you own a PS3 you owe it to yourself to look it up and get your free year of games. I don’t work for Playstation by the way, in fact I think the XBOX is superior in every way apart from the free games the ps3 offers.

ANNNNNYWAY I’ll update soon with the hopefully awesome campaign from Alien vs Predator.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

